Netherlands

From the Beginning

As I am sitting here I am trying to figure out where I should start, and how I should get things going, and I guess we should just get going from the beginning.  As my bio states I am currently living in the Netherlands.  As an expat it certainly is a challenge to get used to certain things while being here.  Don’t get me wrong, I love living here! There are so many benefits to raising my children here that I could not imagine ever leaving to raise them elsewhere!

Main mode of transportation...the bike
Main mode of transportation…the bike

I am Caribbean born and raised, educated in the United States for 10 years.  Born to a British father and an American mother, I have a very eclectic point of view and am very much a “to each their own” kind of person.  So here I am, 40 years old with a 14 & 8 year old daughter as well as a 1 year old rambunctious little boy!  Did I ever think I would end up here where I am right now? NO, never in my wildest dreams, but sometimes you just have to go with your heart and see where your choices take you.

I met someone who understands me, supports me and makes me happy, so I took a leap of faith and followed my heart instead of my mind and….well….here I am….living in the middle of the Dutch countryside, figuring out how to raise my kids the best way I can, all the while learning a new language and culture.

Hope you enjoy reading about my adventures here in Drenthe!

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *